my walk home

Leave a comment
PHOTOS, Spain, TRAVELS

My Spanish university, La Universidad de Extremadura, is not like my American university.  It is outside of the town and is a good walk from the center of the city.  So, on nice days I like to take advantage of the sun and my time to walk home.  It’s about a hour walk from the university, mas o menos, to my home in Caceres.  I try to take a slightly different route each time I make the trek, to discover something new or just for a change of scenery.  My favorite route, when it’s especially nice outside, is to go through the campo y el parte antiguo (the country side and old part of town).

My path goes by the student residency (spanish dorms, just apartments for the students), through a valley between to small hills, and pops out in the old part.  From there it’s slightly hilly through the city until I reach Cánovas, the city center.

I say hi to the cows as I pass by enjoying the smell of the dry earth, fresh air, the chirping of birds, the warmth of the sun, and a slight breeze on my neck.

But my favorite part of the whole walk is walking on the dirt paths scattered with wild flowers and old broken tile. I say hi to the cows as I pass by enjoying the smell of the dry earth, fresh air, the chirping of birds, the warmth of the sun, and a slight breeze on my neck. I feel like I’m in a movie as I walk while contemplating my life.  I usually stop, turn around and look where I just came from, taking in the moment because I know it won’t last forever.  While in Spain I have learned to slow down and think about where I am.

Sometimes I feel like I’m just living not doing anything.  But I am always doing something, even if its just walking from place to place.  But these are the things I will remember when I’m older; the scents and smells that will remind me of my precious time in Spain. I sometimes catch a whiff of dry earth that reminds me of all my summers in Colorado and a flood of memories comes to mind.  Our memories are in us, they never leave, we just need a little help remembering sometime. So that’s why I stop and look around. Because this moment won’t last forever, but thats what makes it special.  It comes and it goes.

On my last walk I ran into Rachel and she showed me a new path I had not taken yet.  The top was defiantly worth the steep incline.  It was a wonderful view of all of Caceres.  Next time I’m going to take a lunch up and sit on the hill, enjoying my last few weeks in Caceres.

 

Leave a Reply

